menu

This past June I was lucky enough to head to the Dominican Republic to bring you this tropical wedding inspiration! If you have seen the sand and the sea moodboard on my blog, then you have seen all the color and design inspiration. But now, I get to share how all the details came together!

The Details

Pinks and oranges with hints of yellow and lots of greenery made for the perfect color palette. Usually when you think of tropical weddings, you may think of vibrant, bold colors. While we did choose beachy colors, we went with more of a softer approach. They are just bright enough, however delicate in the sense that it doesn’t take away from the amazing beach scenery. The way the ocean and sky provides such a light and airy essence that I just can’t get enough of! It deserves to have it’s own moment and not be out-shined, but rather enhanced!

The Tablescape

Through the use of calligraphy by White Oak Calligraphy the stunning script was the perfect touch to the stationery. It’s effortlessly flawless and went perfectly with the decor. One of my favorite parts of the design is the table runner that included the words in the script font. Although simple, it made for such a unique touch to the table design! In addition, lush florals by Bloom 52 Floral Co. sat atop the tables accented in gold vases. I love how full, yet unstructured the designs are. Perfect for a beach wedding!

The Models

While the decor stands out in it’s own way, our models really brought the shoot to life. Their look is classic, yet perfect for a tropical beach wedding. The bride’s look is elegant with loose curls and a free-flowing dress. The groom’s look includes a classic black tuxedo with a bow-tie. Their looks are both classic, however add a bit of formality to the laid-back beach atmosphere.

We also included a few extra adorable models, one being a beautiful horse! Being able to bring that vision from the moodboard to life was amazing! It adds the perfect level of cuteness!

The Amazing Experience

I’m so grateful that I was able to be a part of this editorial, in the Dominican Republic no less! The Lockharts not only hosted such an amazing workshop, but produced the most amazing photos and video to say everything words can’t.

Check out all the gorgeousness below and let me know what is your favorite part about this tropical wedding inspiration! If you haven’t already be sure to check out the sand and the sea moodboard! For more design inspiration, click here!

Planning + Design // Alexa Kay Events @alexakayevents + JENA™ Bodas & Eventos Sociales @jenaeventosrd
Venue // Hotel Casa Hemingway @hotelcasahemingway
Photography // The Lockharts @thelockharts
Workshop Host // The Lockharts @thelockharts
Floral // Bloom 52 Floral Co. @bloom.52
Stationery // White Oak Calligraphy @whiteoakcalligraphy
Cake // Bake Artistry @bakeartistry
Sweets + Desserts // Ambrosía Boutique Caterers @ambrosiard
Rentals // JR & Co. @jryco
Hair // Yudelka Zapata @yudelka_zapata
Makeup // Yamila Lebron MUA @yamilalebron
Dress // Marina Semone Bridal @marina_semone
Viel //  Kathryn Ann Bridal @kathrynannbridal + Hushed Commotion @hushedcommotion
Tux // Jose Jhan @josejhan + Generation Tux @generationtux
Jewelry // Sarah Gauci @sarahgauciofficial (formally Sparkle La Vie) + Hushed Commotion @hushedcommotion
Ribbon // Emma Linh @Emmalinhco + Hey It’s OH So Pretty @heyitsohsopretty
Ring Box // The Mrs. Box @the_mrs_box
Styling Board // The Styling Mat @stylingmat + Simply Rooted @simplyrootedsurfaces

subscribe

join

© 2019 Alexa Kay Events     //     Brand & Web Design by Saltwater Designs     //     Privacy Policy